KEEP YOUR PC SAFE

SECURITY ALERT!

Facebook video attack via Twitter Beware of direct messages on Twitter that appear to come from a friend,
saying you’ve been captured in a Facebook video. According to Sophos, clicking the link in the message brings up an alert urging you to install a YouTube update. If you do, it will infect your PC with a Trojan. If you fear you have been hacked, contact Twitter using this form: bit.ly/form302bit.ly/sophos302

YouTube hoax videos Security experts at Bitdefender have spotted thousands of fake YouTube
videos that claim to show how to hack software, hardware and games. Clicking links in these videos takes you to pages asking you to fill in surveys, or suggesting apps to download. You should ignore both requests, then email YouTube the details of the hoax video: security@youtube.com.

Gmail iPad prize scam Watch out for emails claiming to be from Gmail, saying you’ve won an
iPad in a “one-time promotional event”. Hoax-Slayer’s experts say that if you follow the email’s instructions
by typing the URL ‘GmailReward.com’ into your browser, you’ll be taken to a page asking for your mobile number. If you give it, you’ll be subscribed to an expensive premium-rate line. bit.ly/gmail302

Fake emails from Microsoft If you receive an email from privacy@ microsoft.com titled ‘Microsoft
Windows Update’, don’t click the link it contains. It will take you to a fake Microsoft website that says your PC is at risk. You’ll be asked to sign in using Gmail, Yahoo Mail, Windows Live or AOL. If you do, your username and password will be used by criminals to access your personal accounts. Read Microsoft’s security pages for more phishing scams to avoid. bit.ly/msoft302


Previous
Next Post »

Advertisements